2016 Franco-German Prize for Human Rights and the Rule of Law

President of the Cambodian Human Rights and Development Association (ADHOC) is one of the laureates Enlarge image President of the Cambodian Human Rights and Development Association (ADHOC) is one of the laureates (© Ronny Hartmann/photothek.net) 2016 Franco-German Prize for Human Rights and the Rule of Law

Mr. Thun Saray, President of the Cambodian Human Rights and Development Association (ADHOC), is part of the 16 laureates of the first edition of the annual Franco-German Prize for Human Rights and the Rule of Law. The 15 other laureates were chosen in the following countries : Bangladesh, Belarus, Brazil, Cameroon, Canada, China, Costa Rica, India, Ireland, Italy, Jordan, Pakistan, Russia, Syria and Chad.

The jury chose to reward the long-term contribution made by Mr. Thun Saray and ADHOC to the defense of Human Rights which puts the protection of the individual against all abuses at the heart of Cambodia’s values. ADHOC has been bringing legal aid to the most vulnerable communities or individuals in cases of land disputes. 

The actions carried out by Mr. Thun Saray and ADHOC have enabled Cambodian society to realize that improvements in the rule of law and Human Rights necessarily come about through better access to justice, whatever the origin or social status of the person.

ADHOC’s activities have been supported by international donors, including France and Germany. France financed actions pertaining to legal assistance in particular. Germany has supported the outreach to the civil parties of the Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia (ECCC - Khmer Rouge Tribunal) for several years.

This award is part of the shared efforts undertaken by France and Germany in favor of the consolidation of the rule of law in Cambodia and is meant to provide encouragement to Mr. Thun Saray, to ADHOC, as well as to the other civil society organizations in their endeavors.

The French and German Ministers of Foreign affairs have cosigned an editorial on the 2016 Franco-German Prize for Human Rights and the Rule of Law that can be read on the websites of the French and German Embassies.

2016 Franco-German Prize for Human Rights and the Rule of Law

2016 Franco-German Prize for Human Rights and the Rule of Law

2016 Französisch-Deutsche Auszeichnung für Menschenrechte und Rechtsstaatlichkeit

Der kambodschanische Preisträger Thun Saray Bild vergrößern Der kambodschanische Preisträger Thun Saray (© Ronny Hartmann/photothek.net) 2016 Französisch-Deutsche Auszeichnung für Menschenrechte und Rechtsstaatlichkeit

Herr Thun Saray, Präsident der Kambodschanischen Vereinigung für Menschenrechte und Entwicklung (ADHOC) ist einer der 16 Preisträger bei der erstmaligen Verleihung des Französisch-Deutschen Preises für Menschenrechte und Rechtstaatlichkeit. Die anderen 15 Preisträger kommen aus den folgenden Ländern: Bangladesch, Weißrussland, Brasilien, Kamerun, Kanada, China, Costa Rica, Indien, Irland, Italien,  Jordanien, Pakistan, Russland, Syrien und Tschad.

Die Jury hat entschieden den nachhaltigen Beitrag von Herrn Thun Saray und ADHOC zur Verteidigung der Menschenrechte über die Verankerung des Schutzes des Individuums gegen jegliche Rechtsverletzung als zentralen Wert in der kambodschanischen Gesellschaft zu honorieren. ADHOC erbringt Rechtshilfe für die am meisten gefährdeten Gemeinschaften oder Einzelpersonen in Fällen von Landstreitigkeiten.

Die Aktivitäten von Thun Saray und ADHOC haben es der kambodschanischen Gesellschaft ermöglicht zu erkennen, dass Verbesserungen bei Rechtsstaatlichkeit und Menschenrechten zwangsläufig durch einen besseren Zugang zu Gerechtigkeit, unabhängig von der Herkunft oder dem sozialen Status der Person, zustande kommen.

Die Aktivitäten von ADHOC wurden von internationalen Gebern, einschließlich Frankreich und Deutschland, gefördert. Frankreich finanzierte insbesondere Maßnahmen zur Rechtshilfe, während Deutschland über einige Jahre die zivilen Nebenkläger in den Außerordentlichen Kammern der Gerichte von Kambodscha (Khmer-Rouge Tribunal) unterstützt.

Diese Auszeichnung ist Teil der gemeinsamen Bemühungen Frankreichs und Deutschlands für die Konsolidierung der Rechtsstaatlichkeit in Kambodscha und soll Herrn Thun Saray und ADHOC sowie andere zivilgesellschaftliche Organisationen in ihren weiteren Bestrebungen ermutigen.

Der deutsche und französische Außenminister haben einen Leitartikel über die Französisch-Deutsche Auszeichnung für Menschenrechte und Rechtsstaatlichkeit 2016 übergeben, der auf der Webseite der Französischen und der Deutschen Botschaft eingesehen werden kann.

2016 Französisch-Deutsche Auszeichnung für Menschenrechte und Rechtsstaatlichkeit

Gruppenbild BM Steinmeier mit den Preisträgern der Französisch-Deutschen Auszeichnung für Menschenrechte und Rechtsstaatlichkeit