Official Lauching of the Joint Parliamentary Support Project (09.12.16)

Launching of the parliament project - 2 Enlarge image (© Deutsche Botschaft) Launching of the parliament project - 1 Enlarge image (© Deutsche Botschaft) On December, 9th 2016 the Official Launching Ceremony was held of the joint Parliamentary Support Project, funded by the German Government. The ceremony was attended by representatives of the Commissions of the National Assembly and the Senate as well as the German Ambassador, Dr. Ingo Karsten.

The overall objective of project is to improve and strengthen the capacity and expertise of both chambers of the Cambodian Parliament. The project particularly cooperates with the Commission No. 6 (Legislation, Justice) and the Commission No. 8 (Health, Social Affairs, Youth and Women’s Affairs) of the National Assembly and with the General Secretariats of the National Assembly and the Senate.

“It is my sincere hope that the Joint Parliamentary Support Project will be meaningful in order to allow the National Assembly and the Senate to fulfill their Constitutional mandate”, the German Ambassador Dr. Ingo Karsten said during the launching ceremony.

During the launching ceremony four video clips have been presented to exemplify parliamentary procedures in Cambodia. The videos were produced with German support and can be accessed here: https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/0ByouzpngPPJ3N0dxTEkxclRYS3c?usp=sharing

The Joint Parliamentary Support Project is implemented by two well-known German political foundations - the Konrad Adenauer Foundation and the Friedrich Naumann Foundation - as well as an integrated expert (CIM). During the past 20 years a reliable and trustful partnership has been built between the Cambodian Parliament and these institutions. The Parliamentary Support Project builds on this partnership and provides the opportunity to intensify activities in coordinated manner.

The German Government funds this project with an additional amount of 250.000 Euro. It is implemented in 2017 and 2018.

Startschuss für das deutsch-kambodschanische Parlamentsprojekt (09.12.16)

Startschuss von Parlament Projekt - 2 Bild vergrößern (© Deutsche Botschaft) Startschuss von Parlamentsprojekt - 1 Bild vergrößern (© Deutsche Botschaft) Am 9. Dezember 2016 fiel der offizielle Startschuss für ein Vorhaben zur Unterstützung des kambodschanischen Parlaments im Beisein zahlreicher Abgeordneter der Nationalversammlung und des Senats sowie des deutschen Botschafters im Königreich Kambodscha, Dr. Ingo Karsten.

Ziel des Vorhabens ist es, die fachlichen und organisatorischen Kapazitäten beider Kammern des kambodschanischen Parlaments zu stärken. Das Vorhaben arbeitet insbesondere mit zwei Ausschüssen zusammen – dem sechsten Ausschuss (u.a. Gesetzgebung, Justiz) und dem achten Ausschuss (u.a. Gesundheit, Soziales, Frauenbelange) sowie mit den Generalsekretariaten von Nationalversammlung und Senat.

„Ich hoffe sehr, dass unser gemeinsames Parlamentsprojekt dazu beitragen wird, dass Nationalversammlung und Senat besser in der Lage sind, ihr verfassungsmäßiges Mandat auszufüllen“, sagte Botschafter Dr. Ingo Karsten am Rande der Veranstaltung.

Bei der Veranstaltung wurden außerdem Videoproduktionen zur Arbeitsweise des Parlaments vorgestellt, die mit deutscher Unterstützung erstellt wurden. Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier: https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/0ByouzpngPPJ3N0dxTEkxclRYS3c?usp=sharing

Das gemeinsame Vorhaben zur Unterstützung des Parlaments wird von der Friedrich Naumann Stiftung sowie der Konrad Adenauer Stiftung umgesetzt. Beide Stiftungen werden durch eine integrierte Fachkraft (CIM) in der Nationalversammlung unterstützt. Während der letzten 20 Jahre konnten die genannten Institutionen eine verlässliche und vertrauensvolle Partnerschaft mit dem kambodschanischen Parlament aufbauen. Das neue Vorhaben baut auf dieser Partnerschaft auf und ermöglicht eine noch intensivere Zusammenarbeit.

Die Bundesregierung fördert das Vorhaben mit zusätzlichen 250.000 Euro. Es  läuft in 2017 und 2018.