For Travelling to the following Schengen States Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland for visit, tourist or business purposes up to 90 days you need a short-stay Schengen Visa. If your main destination is Austria, Germany, Finland, Italy, Luxemburg or the Netherlands you have to apply for a Schengen Visa at the German Embassy.

For staying more than 90 days you have to apply for a National Visa (long-stay visa) at the Embassy of the concerned Schengen state.


At present, the visa section has a growing number of applicants. This may lead to longer waiting times for an appointment in order to apply for a visa. Therefore, please arrangeĀ  your appointment as soon as possible in advance using our electronic appointment system . You can already make the application 3 months before departure.

New opening times of Legal and Consular Section

From 1 June 2016, the Consular Section is open as follows:

Monday, Wednesday and Friday from 8:30 to 11:30 a.m.

The Visa Section is open from Monday to Friday from 8:30 to 11:30 a.m. and on Thursday from 1:30 to 3:00 p.m. (only by appointment).